top of page
Search
Josh Shin

Week 1: A Reflection

Exactly a week ago from when I’m writing this, I was taxiing to the gate at Narita Airport, having landed in Japan for the first time. I had known this moment was coming for three months by this time. Heck, I had even just been on a 10-hour flight where I could have been mentally preparing for my arrival in Japan. But when those wheels screeched on the tarmac, a wave of emotions hit me: excitement, anxiety, relief, and fear about what was to come when I stepped off that plane. It’s been a week of nonstop exploring and learning since that moment, and those emotions have now distilled down to an insatiable desire to explore more. Week 1 is a story of becoming infatuated with Japan.


These feelings stem from the fact that nearly every place I have visited has been wholly fascinating in some way. And, in many cases, it’s in very unorthodox ways. Visiting places like the National Diet Building and the Edo Tokyo Museum were incredibly enriching experiences for their historical and cultural value. However, the moments that have had the greatest impact on me have come in more unexpected places. I vividly remember the wall of sumo wrestlers’ handprints and their portraits at the train station in Sumida, the foot-long opening between a building and a concrete wall that acted as the entrance into a line of small design studios culminating in an okonomiyaki restaurant, and the pristine traditional Japanese dining room hidden within a facade of an aged apartment building that served as the setting for one of the best restaurant experiences of my life. These intimate expressions of culture in the most surprising of places will never seize to fascinate me.


One unique aspect of studying abroad is that we get to learn about a new country as we are living in it. This adds another layer of enjoyment and importance to all these experiences. Understanding that the National Diet Building was built during a time defined by a merging of Western technology and Japanese culture gives meaning to a lot of what we saw on the tour. Without that prior context, it would have been easy to dismiss the building as a regular government building with some Japanese flair, but there is so much more to it than that. There was also the reading on alleyways in Tokyo, which has made me hyper aware of any and all alleys while walking through the streets. It also informed my observations of Akihabara whose ceaseless supply of toy machines permeate into even the smallest of roads. We also read about and watched videos on the history of the Japanese diaspora prior to going to the Overseas Migration Museum, giving context to the experiences that were documented there. Being able to read about and discuss societal phenomena and then actually observe it within a couple hours has heightened my awareness in everything that I do, allowing me to absorb more of this new culture.


One large difference that I have noticed between Japan and the US has come from observing and interacting with the people. Everybody seems to be much more conscientious of others and how their actions affect them. There are simple things, such as standing on the left side of the escalator to allow people to walk up the right or holding their backpacks in front of them on the train so as to not inadvertently hit someone behind them. There are also more meaningful actions, such as asking a flustered-looking foreigner, also known as me, if they need any assistance, or helping them find a restaurant to eat at and showing them how to order using a ticket machine.


There was also a time when I was shopping at a small store in Asakusa. There were only two people in the shop: an elderly woman who was working there and me. I picked out a souvenir and approached her. When she looked up to see me, her eyes lit up and a wide smile appeared on her face, as if she was seeing one of her grandchildren. Her and I had absolutely no way of communicating verbally, yet there was still a feeling of warmth and, even, familiarity between us. She took my item, pointed at a chart that showed its price plus tax, then proceeded to neatly and meticulously wrap it in a piece of paper. She then placed the item in a plastic bag and handed it to me. We exchanged a few bows and I was on my way. A very simple, everyday interaction, but one that left an impression on me. This theme seems to be everywhere in Japan. I have found that when I slow down and really take in all of my surroundings, there is an endless amount of details that become immediately interesting.


This first week in Japan has been extremely busy and, at times, quite stressful. However, it has been very rewarding. It has forced me to explore on my own and taught me how to properly observe and be sensitive to my surroundings. Although I have only seen the tip of the metaphorical iceberg that is Japan, this week has given me the tools to continue my explorations in a meaningful way and has fostered a deep excitement within me for what’s to come.


 

Week 1 Gallery


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page